helaine mario

Shadow Music

Maggie O'Shea Mysteries, Book 3

Coming September 21st
shadow music

"Mario has once again hit all the right notes with Shadow Music, drawing the reader into a landscape of art and music... using a tuning fork of spine-tingling suspense."
   —Sandra Brown, New York Times best-selling author

Overcoming loss—Finding the courage to move on—Trying to stay alive

Late in the Cold War, a young woman escapes from Communist Hungary, vanishing into the night with a priceless painting and a baby girl, setting in motion a decades-old secret that will change lives for generations to come.

Many years later, classical pianist Maggie O'Shea is drawn to Cornwall in search of a long-lost Van Gogh and the truth behind her husband's death. A journal from World War II Paris holds many of the answers, but only two people know where the Van Gogh is hidden now—a courageous nun and a man presumed dead.

Set against the backdrop of the international music and art world, Maggie finds herself on a collision course with three dangerous Russians who threaten all she holds dear—including her life and the life of the man she has come to love.

Rachmaninoff's Concerto No. 2 is at the heart of this story that strikes the chords of every human emotion. Past and present converge in this haunting tale of loss, courage, vengeance and love.