helaine mario

"As much about art as music, [Dark Rhapsody] reveals the transformative power of both."
   —Library Journal

Thank you for visiting my beautiful new website, and welcome. I have written the suspense novels that I wanted to read—Firebird, The Lost Concerto (view the trailer!), and Dark Rhapsody. I write not about what I know, but about what I love—music, dance, art, the performing arts, history, romance, and international suspense.

Intelligent and complex characters deserve intelligent and complex plots. They deserve to be set in beautiful, evocative settings. Classical music sets my stories apart, enriching them with emotion and heart. I am passionate about these suspenseful but character-driven stories and like to say that my books really are "love stories masquerading as thrillers." I want to be a storyteller forever.

Helaine Mario

Dark Rhapsody Awards

Winner: Best Book Award from American Book Fest, Mystery 2018
Top 20 List: The Reading Frenzy, 2018
Finalist: Foreward Indies Award, Mystery 2018
Finalist: International Best Book Award, Mystery/Suspense 2019
Finalist: National Indie Excellence Award, Suspense 2019
Finalist: Next Generation Indie Award, Suspense 2019


Dark Rhapsody

Now in paperback:

Dark Rhapsody

Maggie O'Shea Mysteries, Book 2

My latest book, Dark Rhapsody, published by Oceanview Publishing, is the second book in the Maggie O'Shea Mystery series and the sequel to The Lost Concerto. Perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johannsen.

The Opening Chords...

A startling discovery and a life-changing decision occur on the shores of an Alpine lake at the end of World War II.

A rhapsody that haunts a grieving pianist's dreams begins a search for a missing recluse who may have the answers to the mystery of her mother's death.

A colonel and his Golden are determined to protect the woman they love from a vicious killer seeking vengeance.

An aging musical legend with a decades old secret propels a quest for a priceless lost oil painting.

So begins Dark Rhapsody.

Four compelling stories. Seemingly disparate, yet all connected. All destined to collide.

Chord by chord, Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody will become the heart of this story of profound loss, courage and love. Music tells our stories...

(Note—author royalties will be donated to The Helaine and Ronald Mario Fund to support women, children and families.)

Read more
Book Club Questions
Read my article about the challenges and rewards of writing a sequel

BUY THE BOOK
Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million iTunes Kobo