helaine mario

"If she keeps writing, I'll keep reading."
   —Amazon Fan Lynne, 5 Stars

Thank you for visiting my beautiful new website, and welcome. I have written the suspense novels that I wanted to read—Firebird, The Lost Concerto (view the trailer!), and Dark Rhapsody. I write not about what I know, but about what I love—music, dance, art, the performing arts, history, romance, and international suspense.

Intelligent and complex characters deserve intelligent and complex plots. They deserve to be set in beautiful, evocative settings. Classical music sets my stories apart, enriching them with emotion and heart. I am passionate about these suspenseful but character-driven stories and like to say that my books really are "love stories masquerading as thrillers." I want to be a storyteller forever.

Helaine Mario

Special book news to share!

Dark Rhapsody has been honored as the WINNER, 2018 BEST BOOK AWARD in the Fiction: MYSTERY/SUSPENSE category—sponsored by American Book Fest. I am grateful, and so happy, and I congratulate all the finalists and other winners. We all pour our hearts and souls into our books, and being recognized is a lovely honor.

CHECK OUT THE EVENTS BELOW!


Dark Rhapsody
Now Available!

New book now available:

Dark Rhapsody

Maggie O'Shea Mysteries, Book 2

My latest book, Dark Rhapsody, published by Oceanview Publishing, is the second book in the Maggie O'Shea Mystery series and the sequel to The Lost Concerto. Perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johannsen.

The Opening Chords...

A startling discovery and a life-changing decision occur on the shores of an Alpine lake at the end of World War II.

A rhapsody that haunts a grieving pianist's dreams begins a search for a missing recluse who may have the answers to the mystery of her mother's death.

A colonel and his Golden are determined to protect the woman they love from a vicious killer seeking vengeance.

An aging musical legend with a decades old secret propels a quest for a priceless lost oil painting.

So begins Dark Rhapsody.

Four compelling stories. Seemingly disparate, yet all connected. All destined to collide.

Chord by chord, Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody will become the heart of this story of profound loss, courage and love. Music tells our stories...

(Note—author royalties will be donated to The Helaine and Ronald Mario Fund to support women, children and families.)

Read more
Book Club Questions
Read my article about the challenges and rewards of writing a sequel

BUY THE BOOK
Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million iTunes Kobo

Helaine Mario


EVENTS


BOOK FAIRS

Meet the Authors Night and Bookfair
Wednesday, November 28, 5:30 – 8 p.m.
University Club of DC
1135 16th St. NW
Washington, DC 20036
PUBLIC WELCOME
This special evening event will attract over 500 book lovers including Club members, their guests, and the general public—since it is the only day of the year that the Club is open to the public. There will be sixty featured authors with their new books.

BEDSIDE READING PROGRAM

Bedside Reading is a program that places accepted books by the bedside in designated luxury hotels.
My novel, Dark Rhapsody, will be ‘Bedside’ for the month of December in the Acqualina Resort & Spa in Miami and the Mandarin Oriental DC.

* * * * *

Previous Book Signings and Talks on the Craft of Writing

Panelist at Bouchercon, St. Petersburg, FL in September
Talk and Signing at Congress Hall, Cape May, NJ in September
Talk and Signing for Book Lovers in Hingham, MA in October
Talk and Book Signing for WhoDunIts Book Club, Falmouth, Cape Cod in October
Talk and Book Signing for Women’s Leadership of Boys & Girls Clubs Greater DC in October
Talk and Signing at Bookstore 1, Sarasota, FL in November
Meet the Authors Night and Bookfair—University Club of DC in November

If you have a book club in the Arlington, VA, or Washington, DC, area and would like to discuss my talk on the craft of writing, please contact me at helainemario@gmail.com.